LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data acquisition with time stamp

Hi I'm using NI DAQ 6211 to acquire acceration, strain and temperature from a VI. I have made several modifications and my last two vis are attached. I need to get 1000 data points from a encoder and sampling the period is by far the best way to get acceleration considering my hardware. 

Is there a way to ensure that all three variables are synchronised within a timestamp without the vi slowing down?

Sincerely

Ahmad

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,725 Views)

Hello Qadri

Thank you for getting in touch. I am an Applications Engineer at National Instruments and I will be supporting you with your query.

As I understand you are hoping to acquire from 3 devices at the same time with a timestamp attached. One thing that is key to achieve this is acquiring a waveform with the DAQmx function.

I have attached an example which you will be able to edit for your own system, I also found this example from our DevZone which you may also find useful.

Timestamp on DAQmx Data Acquisition

If you have any further questions regarding your acquisition please reply to this post and I will be back in touch.

Regards

Stephanie L
Applications Engineer
National Instruments UK and Ireland
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,696 Views)

The problem lies in synchronising the acceleration with the load and temperature. For acceleration I'm getting a period from a counter with Implicit values (i.e. without specifying timing). I have set the number of samples to acquire to 1000 points and this task does not require sample timing. Post processing the period data in matlab gives me the acceleration.

Now my vi uses a Sample Clock with set number of samples being acquired for the load and temperature. This means that a set number of samples for load and temperature can be acquired and this time may not be enough to acquire the acceleration points; hence they cannot be mapped in time.