LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Acquisition for a set time interval

Hey! I'm a Labview student, new to this software.

I've made a program that continously acquires data from a waveform generator for a set time interval (which can be adjusted as required) and then writes the data to a spreadsheet if needed (new data in new columns).

I was somehow able to run the program and achieve the desired outcome, but I'm sure that there are a lot of silly things that I did 😄

Would someone please help me optimize the program, it would be very helpful for me to learn more 🙂

(I'm attaching the VI here)

Thanks in advance,

Akash 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,457 Views)

Here are things to either never do or very rarely do:

• Never (!!) use Frame Sequences.  In LabVIEW 2016, they don't even appear on the Structures Palette (though I understand they are still available for those who insist on really bad habits).
  • (Almost) never use Local Variables.  In most cases, it makes it difficult to see what's going on.
  • Don't use Indicators that you don't "need" (Current Time, Set Time, dt, Array(1), Array).  If you need to watch something during execution for debugging purposes, use a Probe.  And if you don't know about Probes, use LabVIEW Help, search for Probe, and look at the Debugging Techniques entry.

On the other side, a good practice is to use sub-VIs to "hide the details", making your code "fit on a single screen" (so it can be visually grasped without needing 12 monitors or lots of mouse scrolling).  

Bob Schor

Message 2 of 7
(3,417 Views)

Hey Bob,

Thanks a lot for your suggestions 🙂

But if you say that Frame sequences and local variables are not to be used often (or at all), then in this case, how do I write my program in such a way that I get the code to execute in a particular sequence and get the desired outcome? Do you have any suggestions for that?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,416 Views)