cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Acquisition and Processing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I am trying to collect Analog (Voltage) data from a DAQ continuously at sampling rate of 1kHz and 100 samples per acquisition. This limits my data collection while loop to run at 10Hz. I would also like to process the data (do some differential and averaging operations), however I would like to do so at a faster rate (100Hz). The differential has to be with respect to run time.

If I use two loops and a queue, the second loop's runtime depends on the first. How can I calculate the time differential of the data? Attached is the VI. I apologize if my problem isn't clear as I am relatively new to LABVIEW.

Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,367 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author loneflyer18

There are several issues with the way you are trying to implement your applications and also it seems unnecessarely complicated.

While your first loop is timed by the DAQ acquisition and has as you say a loop iteration time of 100 ms, your second loop process as fast as it can and your 100 samples are likely "processed" very fast (way less than 100 ms). So there is probably no reasons to even use a queue approach and you should be able to run everything in the same loop. If not DAQ will complain. But of course the queue will work too if correctly implemented

So without the queue, if you add a For loop inside your acquisition loop and perform your processing point-by-point you should achieve the same functionality.

Next; Why are you using all those timers in your processing loop? They are not affecting the speed of the loop. Are you trying to show a point-by-point result in pseudo real time on your front panel? If you want a true correlation between your data sample and time us the timestamp information (to and dt) that comes with your data wire. You should see dt = 0.001 if you've sampled at 1 kS/s.

Some additional comments