From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQmx Task ID missing in action

I am converting an old program (Its ancestry goes back to LV 1.2) from LV5.1 on Mac OS7 to LV8.2 on a Windows XP machine with a PCI-6221. This is my first attempt to use DAQmx, so I am probably doing something simple, but wrong.

I started with the example Cont Acq & Graph Voltage-IntClk.vi. That works fine. I split it into three parts, the configuration, the read, and the clear, with the read part in a loop. This seems to work every other time the program is run. On the times it does not work, I get a timeout error and the Task ID out indicator is empty. I am trying to put together a simple example which illustrates the problem, but have not yet succeeded. I'll try to post something later today.

I have a Config AI VI which contains DAQmx Create Channel (AI-Voltage_Basic).vi DAQmx Timing (Sample Clock).vi and DAQmx Start Task.vi - exactly the same as the example. The inputs are AI physical channels, Samples per Channel, Sample Rate, and error in. The outputs are ai task out, AI Sample Rate, and error out. If I run this directly the Task out is "_unnamed task <1>". When run as a sub VI the Task out is sometimes empty. I suspect that the Stop Task and Clear Task VIs were not executing, but I cannot confirm this. Putting an indicator or probe on the Task out wire shows empty on the times where it does not work. Do Stop Task.vi and Clear Task.vi work if the error in is True? The help is not clear on this although prelininary testing indicates that they do.