LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a Dynamic Array

I've been trying to come up with a way to make a dynamic array in LV 6.i so that it's always the exact size to match the data. The way I do it now is to just initialize a huge array like 1000x2 and set everything to zero. Then I use Replace Array to fill in as needed and leave the rest at 0. This works, but takes a long time to execute, isn't guaranteed to be able to manage every data point, and leaves a "ghost plot" at the initial value for the left-over 0's. I'm also not really a pro at using clusters, so if there is a way to do it and keep everything as an array, that'd be ideal. Even better yet, if someone already has a sample .vi made that does this and wants to attach it, by all means...
Thanks
p.s.
Thanks to everyon
e who answers questions on here and does so, so quickly. You make this site an invaluable resource.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,907 Views)
sorry for the multiple posts... computer was acting up
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,907 Views)
I'm not sure of what you want exactly... A simple solution could be to use the function "Insert into Array", instead of "replace into array", this way, the size of the array automaticaly increases to fit the new data.
In the example provided, I'm using a shift register, with an empty array as the initial value. You can chose how much points you want to had (I guess in your case you just receive the data, but this is for demo purpose...), and you will see the array expand accordingly.

I hope this helps, if not, please be a little bit specific 😉

oh, yeah, sorry for the cluster, you can get ride of it, it was just more convenient for me...

-julien
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,907 Views)