LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating Installer for Executable - does the NI dependent software get automatically installed?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey Fancy Folk,

TLDR;

So I've been working with LV for a few years now and I recently had to build an installer for a fresh PC that has never had LV or the RTE installed on it.  I am running into an issue with getting my executable to run and I think it's because the associated NI software isn't installed when I am using the installer.  I was wondering if NI installers will install the required software to get my code running.

Problem:

I have code that uses XNET, DAQmx, and Python to control communications to a motor.  When I build the executable and run it on my PC, everything works fine (thank you conditional disable loops for RUN_TIME_ENGINE == True for relative pathing).  I then created an installed for the fresh PC (literally booted for the first time yesterday) and installed my code.  However, the run arrow is disabled and when I click on it, I get a 46308 error.  I am assuming since the executable runs on my dev machine that I don't have a problem with the executable itself, but the new PC.

Steps so far:

I found this article going over basic problem solving steps.  Since I believe my issue is with the Deployment machine, I went down that section to start troubleshooting.  First I checked the .NET stuff and my PC has 2.0, 3.5, 4, and 4.0 while the deployed PC has .NET 4 and 4.0.  I am assuming that the executable on my PC uses .NET 4 or 4.0 but I'm not sure.

The next step would be to verify that all NI and third party drivers are installed on the deployed PC.  I went to search for NI MAX to see what was installed and I don't see it.  I assumed since my code calls the XNET, DAQmx, and Python modules that the modules would be included when the installer is created.