LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a VI by Clicking

Hi. I'm quite new with Labview.

Does anybody know how to create/ duplicate a VI by clicking a button in the front panel?

What I mean is: I have created a template, and I want to write a program such that whenever I click a control button in the front panel, a new VI will be created  automatically, exactly like my template. Can anyone tell me how to do this? I know I can programmatically create a new VI by using Labview VI scripting, but it seems very complicated.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,846 Views)

You mean that while the code is running or in the edit mode....? Can you tell what exactly you want to achieve by that?....Smiley Wink

-----

The best solution is the one you find it by yourself
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,839 Views)

Are you familiar with the template browser?

This is the dialog which shows up if you select File>>New. (No key shortcut).

You can include your own templates there.

hope this helps,

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,838 Views)

What I mean is: At first I create a template VI. Then with my main VI running, by clicking a button in my main VI, a new VI with its front panel will pop up. This new VI is exactly like the template VI. And I can fill in extra information in the VI, for instance the operating condition of a machine.

Can I do it by using the VI server?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(2,826 Views)

Nobert,

I intend to create a new VI while my main VI is running.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 12
(2,824 Views)

It is still not clear if you talk about the development phase of the application or if this should be a feature of the running application.