From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create User Event vs Value(Signaling)

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to determine the best way to trigger an event structure case programatically. I'm still a bit of a novice (studying for the CLAD) and have been using Value(Signaling) up to this point to simulate a user's interaction with the front panel in order to trigger an event.

Having just recently come across the Create User Event functionality, I'm a bit confused as to which I should be using. Creating a user event seems to allow the transfer of data into an event structure, which as far as I'm aware cannot be done with the Value(Signaling) property node.

However, if I am not trying to transfer any data (just trying to trigger an event), which method would be considered 'best practice'?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,817 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author anodeanna

@anodeanna wrote:

Having just recently come across the Create User Event functionality, I'm a bit confused as to which I should be using. Creating a user event seems to allow the transfer of data into an event structure, which as far as I'm aware cannot be done with the Value(Signaling) property node.

Sure it can!  You get both the "Old Value" and the "New Value" of the variable whose Value you changed!

However, if I am not trying to transfer any data (just trying to trigger an event), which method would be considered 'best practice'?

Invoking a Value(Signaling) Property forces the User Interface code to run (as I understand it).  If you are not doing critical processing, you might not care, but it does seem to be significantly slower than other methods.

Bob Schor

Message 2 of 4
(3,801 Views)