LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convert rotation to rpm in vi

Hello,

I'm working on a labview program and I have an input signal for rotaion currently in position (degree) and would like to convert it to rpm and read them continuously. I've tried a few different ways but would like to find a simple efficient way. I'm sure there's an easy way to do this (delta position / delta time x 60), but I'm still learning. I'm attaching a VI with two loops. The first loop just simulates the rotation at approximately 10 rpm. The second loop has a local variable for rotation and is wired to an idicator. What would be the best methold to use between them to achieve continuous rpm from position. I'm using Labview 8.5.  Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

uddy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(5,880 Views)

uddy,

The question in my mind is this: what kind of an encoder is giving you the angular readout?  Is it an absolute angular reading, or a relative reading?  The main issue is what happens when the encoder passes one full revolution--when it passes 360 degrees or 2 pi, does it reset to zero, or does it keep accumulating the angular change? 

If it's the former, you have the problem of what to do if the encoder turns over zero during your time interval.  If it's the latter, you can just use stacked shift registers to look at the angular value during two successive iterations of the loop, take the difference, and divide by the time interval.

Ed

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 24
(5,869 Views)

uddy,

Take a look at what I've attached.  This works IF the encoder does not reset to zero when it passes 360 degrees. 

I hope this works; this is the first time I've tried to post a .vi.

Ed

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 24
(5,861 Views)

Ed,

I will take a look at the vi. The encoder does reset to zero. The signal coming in is 0 to 360 degrees (0 to 10V).

Thank you,

uddy

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 24
(5,844 Views)

Ed,