LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Control VI through Python script

Hello,

I am working on a project in which I have to launch a VI (Labview program) through my GUI wrote in python. I have not the administrator rights so I installed PyCharm Community with the JetBrain Toolbox and python 3.3 with a msi file.

I read on internet that to do what I want, I need to install the pywin32 extension (https://sourceforge.net/projects/pywin32/files/?source=navbar) but when I launch it, it doesn't find my python installation.

So, my question is : is there another way to control VI from python ?

Thank in advance for your answer. I am a beginner in both language.

Mathieu Gauquelin
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,242 Views)

Bon jour, Mathieu.

I don't have a direct answer to your question.  I played enough with Python to know I don't like it and don't see a use for it in the things that I'm doing, but I am pretty familiar with LabVIEW, so I'll try to bring up so points for you to consider (as you are learning both of these systems).

LabVIEW (the Program) is a Development System for LabVIEW Virtual Instruments (VIs), a graphical representation of code that gets compiled and executed in the Development System.  In addition to running VIs from within the LabVIEW Development System, you can also build stand-along Executables that work with libraries supplied by National Instruments.

So the first question is are you envisioning Python interacting with an Executable developed in LabVIEW, or with VIs running in the LabVIEW Development System?  In any case, an issue would be how Python would get information in and out of the LabVIEW code.  You could set up TCP/IP communication between the Python and the LabVIEW routines, but now it starts getting complicated.