LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous write and read via VISA. Protocol communiction

Hello everyone!

I'm new to labview and I'm trying to realise protocol communication between my computer program and microcontroller via VISA("Home-made" MODBUS protocol). 

Now I can send the command from the computer and get the response, but just 1 command. 

I cann't to understand the procedure of sequential messaging.

How it works now:

[Start]-> [command 1]-> [delay]-> [response to command 1]-> [close the programm]

What I'm trying to do:

[Start]-> [command 1]-> [delay]-> [response to command 1  ->... ->[command i]-> [delay]-> [response to command i]  -> [close the programm]

Ofcourse I need to use the while loop structure in the programm. But the question is: How can I send the next message after the first message and get the response for them? 

Labview allows me to make just one string line to the write buffer of VISA.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,229 Views)

First, as shameless plug: VIWeek 2020/Proper way to communicate over serial 

I show a few frameworks in there based on how your device communicates.  But if you are actually doing a MODBUS, there are a few toolkits floating around to do this already.  Do a search through VI Package Manager.

You should also get in the habit of making a VI for each command.  Things will get a lot simpler when you do.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,195 Views)

Here's a tip beginners should learn sooner rather than later.

Index Array is Expandable!

Instead of branching the array wire and using multiple Index Array functions and needing to wire up all those index constants, delete all but the first one.