cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous Periodic Analog Output with USB-6009

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Guys:

This is my first time using LabVIEW so it might sound silly for my questions.

I want to build a VI using USB 6009 to drive 2 pumps with analog outputs (the digital output doesnt work).  These two outputs should reach 5V to drive the pump to start.

First, i'd like both of them to open. After a certain amount of time (this time variable t0 should be controlled by user), pump 1 will stop but pump 2 will keep working. After pump 1 stops for a certain time (t1_stop), pump 1 will start and pump 2 will stop. Then, after pump 2 stops for a certain time (t2_stop), both pumps will work simultaneously for another amount of time (t_open).

Then the system will repeat with pump 1 off, pump 2 on  --> pump 1 on, pump 2 off --> pump 1 on, pump 2 on --> ......

Is it possible to drive 2 pump with 2 analog outputs ( with a rectangle wave, 0-5V) and have control with time variables (t0, t1_stop, t2_stop, t_open)?

What I've found so far is that USB 6009 doesn't seem like it has a timing clock in it, so it may not fit my task. Since i'm a beginner in labVIEW so I'm looking for some more advice and the possibility of using 6009 for this task.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,175 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Darren052

Hi Darren,

What I've found so far is that USB 6009 doesn't seem like it has a timing clock in it, so it may not fit my task. Since i'm a beginner in labVIEW so I'm looking for some more advice and the possibility of using 6009 for this task.

You're right, the cheap USB6009 doesn't support any timing on its AO and DO channels…

What kind of timing do you need?

2 analog outputs ( with a rectangle wave, 0-5V)

What exactly do you need? a "rectangle, 0-5V" sounds like a simple DO with 5V-TTL levels to me…

with analog outputs (the digital output doesnt work).

Why not? They also output 5V levels…