cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection String Syntax for labSQL to MySQL

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

I am just getting started using labSQL and MySQL and can not even connect to the database I want to practice with. I have tried to write my own code and use the example code but I can not get a connection to any database. The error is always "Exception occurred in ADODB.Connection: Operation is not allowed when the object is closed.Help Path is C:\Windows\HELP\ADO270.CHM and context 1240653 in ADO Connection Execute.vi->Simple.vi". I set up a system DSN using the MySQL ODBC 5.2 Unicode Driver and I am running Labview 2012 with MySQL 5.2 Workbench/5.6 Server. I would really just like to know the syntax of the connection string you pass into the ADO Connection Open vi.

Thank you all in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,116 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(5,111 Views)

Thank you for the link. Now I just recieve a different error though. If I use any of the strings the link suggests (I use the ODBC 5.1 strings and just change them to 5.2) I get the error "Data source name not found and no default driver specified". So if I then specify the DSN it gives me the error " The specified DSN contains an architecture mismatch between the Driver and Application".  Other forums suggest setting up the DSN through a different application (C:\Windows\System32\obdcan.exe or C:\Windows\SysWOW64\odbcan.exe) but I can't find the same drivers then. I know my version of Labview is 32-bit but I don't know what the drivers are. Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(5,096 Views)

Can you post your current connection string?

This is what I use to connect to a local instance of MSSQL using the native client.  I've removed some relevant portions between the < and > brackets:

Provider=SQLNCLI10.1;Data Source=(local)\SQLExpress;server=(local);Initial Catalog=<LocalDBName>;User Id=<User>;Password=<Password>;