LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating with LabVIEW

I am new to LabVIEW, and trying to develop an interface that will trigger a run in ChemStation. The LabVIEW VI controls and monitors my reactor system, but I want to use ChemStation to control my LC, analyze the data, and store the data. I just need a way to periodically (a specific time set by the users) have LabVIEW trigger Chemstation to run the method. Any thoughts?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,696 Views)

ChemStation appears to be control software for assorted Agilent hardware.  I took a quick peek at the documentation and saw no mention of any automation interface for it.

It is possible to have LabVIEW use user32.dll or something like it to programatically send keystrokes or mouse clicks to other applications.  ChemStation appears to have the ability to run macros stored in text files.  As such, if you could create a macro file using LabView, then direct ChemStation to run it by sending the right series of keystrokes/mouse clicks to it.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,664 Views)

Hey nschweit302! This may help you program the keystrokes you need.  

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/15D9EAAE7AF1132586256FB70066E0DD?OpenDocument

Hope this may help you! 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,599 Views)

According to the information on Agilent's site You should be able to automate your work using macros and calling the ChemStation application via the command line. You can use the System Exec.vi to call the application. I could not find any direct communication interfaces to the instruments. ou may be able to reverse engineer it using a LAN analyzer to capture the communication between ChemStation and the instruments, at least for the network based instruments.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?"
Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - Gordon Lightfoot
0 Kudos