LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Common behaviors among LabVIEW Developers

Hello friends,

Well, I'm sorry if I should start this thread in another section, but I think this is a pertinent discussion about LabVIEW development practices.

Today I'm celebrating my first year working with LabVIEW. Before that, I had never heard about it (I think that's because I'm an IT Technician and I'm only 18).

Anyway, the point is: Am I the only one that freaks out because of the block diagram neatness?

I've just finished one medium project (5 VI's, VISA based) and I noticed that I've spent much more time working in details than in the whole architecture or code. I simply don't stand unecessary bended wires, lots of free spaces and everything that makes the code look a real mess.

Is this actually good or I'm wasting my time?

I'd like to post my VI here, but I'm not allowed to this. The fact is, my first medium project started from zero has a modularity index of about 4.5% and no warnings about Node Density (25%) or Diagram Size (1280x800, my current resolution). I know they aren't impressive numbers, but I'm satisfied with them.

I would like to know your opinion about how worthy is the neatness of the code and what aspects should I give more attention when "cleaning up" the whole diagram in my next project.

Thank you all

Regards

Mondoni
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 36
(3,444 Views)

My block diagrams tend to very clean.  My cleanup is typically done when I'm going back through my code as a personal code review.  I have heard from the LabVIEW R&D guys that they just use the Diagram Cleanup tool (CRTL+U or the broom button in the block diagram tool bar).  I know there's plenty of guys here that absolutely hate the Diagram Cleanup tool.  I rarely like its results.

To help myself, I actualy made a quick drop plugin to do various clean up processes for me.  That has save me a ton of time.