LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Code taking increasingly long to Run a Loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi I am extremely new to LabVIEW and cant seem to figure out how to fix a bug I've found in my code. The code is being used to create a data acquisition program that will be using a chassis with 6 thermocouple cards so up to 96 TCs. Right now using the program everything seems to run fine setting the wait ms function to 1s gives a sample rate of 1s and logs the data appropriately. The problem however is that if i leave the program running for a day or more to simulate long term temp testing it becomes increasingly longer between samples and logged data. The code here is by no means finished but this seems like a major issue to fix sooner rather than later. From investigating the code with the highlight tool it seems to be getting slowed down by the loop that converts the numeric value to a string but this is a requested feature by engineering and techs in order to reduce confusion. Anything done in a method not deemed best practice in the code can be mentioned and I would happily fix it though different versions of this file have fixed some issues already. I apologize if this issue is something already reviewed in the forums though I could not seem to find anything close enough to resolve the issue unless its a memory issue. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,749 Views)

one example of something fixed is the file name in is now in the loop that runs after start is hit. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,734 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author BrendanWH

Hello BrendanWH,

The fact that the code slows down with time indicates a memory problem somewhere with the data incrasing.

For what I see of you code, my first thought would go to the TDMS record because this is the only place in your code where the data is stored (and in the waveform chart, but there is a 1024 points limit so it seems fine to me) :