LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Channel Wire read Only Abort

I'm experimenting with channel wires and real enjoy the additional clarity that they bring to the language.

Is there a way to read the aborted? status of a channel wire with abort without having to read or write items to it ?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,298 Views)

should know the answer, as I've been using Channel Wires since LabVIEW 2015 (when they were a "hidden feature"), but I've found the "vanilla" forms of Streams, Tags, and Messengers more than sufficient for my needs (I've got one routine that has >100 Channel Wires running simultaneously when all the Channels are enabled).

What are you trying to do?  What I would do if I wanted to know the answer would be to write a Test routine with a Writer and Reader and just try it out!  If you are not sure how to test this, explain your situation and I do the test for you (and learn something, myself, in the process).

OK, my curiousity got the best of me, so I just wrote a Demo for myself, and confirmed that (a) the Abort terminal for the Tag Channel does exactly what the Message that pops up when you select the Channel says it does, and (b) that if you use Tag with Abort, then all the Abort Inputs on all Readers and Writers must be wired (I didn't expect it was required, but would simply use the default "F" value if unwired.  I actually think this second point is curious, and possibly "wrong-headed", but I missed my chance to complain about it when Channels were being developed ...