LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ccommunicating with Serial Instruments Using GPIB-RS232 converter

I'm new to LabVIEW and I've been tasked with writing a program that records the measurements of an Omega DP41-S strain gage. The setup has a USB plugged into the computer, a GPIB HS plugged into a GPIB-RS232 converter and the strain gage connected to the converter's serial port. Currently, I'm having problems simply communicating with the converter and reading the information stored on the buffer. Does anyone have suggestions on how to use LabVIEW to such a program or on how to communicate with the GPIB-RS232 converter? 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(4,781 Views)
Hi,

what has this USB to do with your setup?
What do the manuals of your devices say about communication protocol?
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(4,764 Views)
You've got a pretty convoluted set-up for simple serial communication. Why have the GPIB-Serial converter instead of a simple and inexpensive USB-Serial converter? Are you using MAX to test communication? What commands are you sending? Is the wiring correct for the serial connection? Can you attach the instrument manual?
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(4,756 Views)

GerdW: I may have been a bit confusing with my description. It's just a USB to GPIB cable.

Dennis: I think the set up is needed because the meter itself doesn't have a serial port. It needed an RS232 board installed on it. I'm not sure though. The setup was determined by my boss. I tried to use MAX to send a few commands but even the basic IDN command returns an error message. I believe the wiring is correct since MAX notes the presence of both instruments. Here is the manual for the Omega Strain Gage.  

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 19
(4,740 Views)

Are you sure you are using a GPIB cable?  Why do you think you would/should be using a GPIB cable?