From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot append an array with an element using local variables

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! 

I am kind of new to LabView and i cannot figure out why the element 20 is not appended to my "buffer" but 10 is. Can someone tell me why?

Thankslabview question.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,172 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author rpdp

@rpdp wrote:

Can someone tell me why?

... because you have race conditions due to mindless overuse of local variables. Your code fragment on the right executes before the fragment on the left, so it first reads the local variable (which probably contains some random value from the previous run or might even be an empty array, appends 20 and writes it back to a local. In the meantime the FOR loop finishes, writes the result to [a}, appends 10, and writes the result to buffer, undoing whatever the code on the right did.

LabVIEW does not execute left to right or care about arrangement of code. Execution order is determined by dataflow, and local variables break dataflow!

Of course you only show us a truncated picture, so we have no idea what else is wrong. We don't even see where the terminal of "buffer" is or if you write to it from other locations. To get better help, always attach the actual VI.

Tell us what you want to achieve with your code and we can give you targeted advice how tho make it better.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,140 Views)

Thank you. It worked when I put the whole thing in a sequence. I was trying to update the value of the buffer variable along with the flow of the program just like I am used to with python or C.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,129 Views)