From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get an deployed executable to run on startup of RT hardware

I'm not new to Labview, but I'm new to RT, and I'm having trouble getting applications built using the Application Builder to automatically launch on startup of my RT hardware.  I was afraid the problem was in my actual application, so I made a very simple one (attached) that just writes a few strings to a text file.  After building the executable, embedding it on the RT target and rebooting the hardware, the VI does not seem to run.  It works fine if I target the RT hardware in the development system and run the VI.  I can also start the built executable on the target by calling it through VI Server. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, or if I'm just misunderstanding how it's supposed to work. I'm building and deploying the executable by:
  1. Targeting the RT hardware
  2. Opening the Build Application screen from the Tools menu
  3. Selecting the correct top-level VI
  4. Making sure the "Set Target to Launch Application at Bootup" option is checked.
  5. Building the application
The EXE does seem to build correctly, and it is located in the proper directory on the remote machine (c:\ni-rt\startup\startup.exe).  I even checked that the LaunchAppAtBoot option in the ni-rt.ini file is set to True. It just doesn't seem to actualy launch when I restart the hardware.

This is under Labview 7.1.1 and a PXI-8186 controller.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,743 Views)
Hello,