From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use LabVIEW VI's with US Digital USB4 DAQ?

Hi,

I'm really new to using LabVIEW. I was asked to create a test that measures and records the angular position of two incremental encoders (quadtrature) and outputs this data to a file. Someone suggested I use LabVIEW for its graphical based programming. I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination. I purchased 2 encoders and a USB4 DAQ from US Digital. I downloaded the .DLL, .lib, .lblib, .h, and many VI files from US Digitals website. I was having difficulty getting the results from the US Digital VI since there was not a lot of documentation explaining what the function of the various VI's. I tried opening LabVIEW Signal Express since it looks like a fast method of getting up and running, but LabVIEW doesn't display any supported devices. I checked and there are no drivers from National Instruments on any US digital products. Do I need to buy a NI DAQ and associated hardware to make this thing happen? Part of the reason I purchased the hardware from US Digital was the overnight lead time, but it appears that I give up a lot of the hardware support by purchasing from a 3rd party instead of NI. 

Help....?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,721 Views)

Please explain what you want to use. LabVIEW is a full programming language and there is in fact a LabVIEW driver available. If you want to use SignalExpress instead of LabVIEW, then you need to use NI hardware. If you need up understanding the US Digital functions, I would suggest you ask US Digital.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,717 Views)