LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call Library Function Node

So I am trying to reverse engineer a driver I downloaded from the NI website because one of the functions doesn't work.  The problem I am having is that all of the sub.vis are written with the call library function node (I've never used this function before), so the GPIB commands that are sent to the device aren't right there on the block diagram for me to see/read.  How can I see what commands are being sent with each parameter?  I attached an image of the block diagram and one of the driver .vis themselves.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,484 Views)

Can you use NI Spy in Measurment and Automation Explorer?

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,482 Views)

I have NI SPY but have never used it.  I just opened it and it wants me to open a capture file (.spy) and I am not sure what that is or how to get it. 

I've been trying to use the "communicate with this intrument" in MAX and the instrument's user manual but there is a command that the posted .vi is sending to the device that initializes it that I can't find.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,478 Views)

I havn't used it in a long time either which shows from my reply - I couldn't find it on my LV2011 system and found that it is now called NI-I/O Trace. I couldn't find that either.

But back when I used NI Spy there was an option to configure which VISA device to capture. It would log all activity which made it (somewhat) easy to figure out the protocol for unknown instruments.

Edit: Found this

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(2,473 Views)

Datron NI SPY.JPG