From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN communication

Hello all,

I am trying to get to grips with CAN communication using a USB-8473 but i am fairly new to Labview and need some pointers. Ive attached some code of what ive done so far. Its very basic and broken as it stands.

I want to be able to specify several different CAN messages with individual timings and watch the activity on the CAN bus Rx and Tx. (basically sort of a mini can analyser).

Ive looked at the examples that come with the 8473 but trying to incorporate them into my bespoke programe is a little difficult for a beginner. If anyone can review my code and give me some help that would be great.

Best Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,361 Views)

You should work through some LabVIEW basics before starting the CAN communication.  From the VI you posted I can't determine what you're trying to do, and there are many problems with it.  None of your interior loops will ever stop because the stop condition is read only once outside the loop (unless you started the program with stop buttons 2-4 pushed, which wouldn't make much sense), and the outside loop won't even complete it's first execution because the loops inside it don't terminate.

Why are you trying to build an array?  Does your program read from the CAN bus, write to it, or both?  Do you just want to send out CAN messages periodically, or you're trying to read them as well?