LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner - Need help with output using DAQ assistant and NI 9401

I'm an absolute beginner and I have been putting in some time learning the basics of labview, but right now I need to do a very simple task and I can't figure it out. I am trying to use DAQ Assistant to send a pulsating signal (0 and 5 volts) through a 9401 module. At this stage, ALL I need to do is make it physically send the signal in specified intervals until I say stop. My block diagram only contains the daq assistant, because by my understanding that should be all I need to make such a simple thing happen. However, nothing happens when I run the code. As far as I can tell, the daq assistant is set up correctly. I chose Generate Signals > Counter Output > Pulse Output and then choose 10 seconds and 100 pulses.  Sorry for wasting your time with such a stupid question,  but I have spent hours trying to find an example as basic as what I'm trying to do with no luck at all. 

Thanks,

Andy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,807 Views)

Hi Andy,

As far as I can tell, the daq assistant is set up correctly.

As far as we can tell we cannot answer your question as you did forget to attach your VI…

Did you try to use some of the exmaple VIs coming with LabVIEW?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,777 Views)

I didn't attach my VI because it's literally just the daq assistant as I described. In essence, that is my question - is it possible to run the program and have something happen with just a daq assistant and absolutely nothing else in the block diagram?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,775 Views)

Hi Andy,

something will happen when you run the DAQ assistent. You have it configured to do something

But how should we tell you, what exactly will happen, when you don't attach your VI?

Best regards,
GerdW

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,772 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10