LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Array Value Counter

Solved!
Go to solution

I need help with what I hope is going to be a simple counter.

To make it simple, I have a large array, and I want to count how many times a range of numbers appear within that array and add it to the counter. (Or just count the total number of time it occurs). Hopefully the self-made example below will help.

Array                                  Values >= 50 (greater than or equal to)              Values >=70

10                                                6                                                                         3

Hopefully this makes sense. I am not sure how to go about this because I am fairly new to labview. Any tips or help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,942 Views)

Use a FOR loop to iterate through each item.  You can use shift registers to keeps your counts.  Do the comparisons inside of the loop and use a Select function to store the incremented count or the old count based on the comparisons.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 8
(3,931 Views)

Hi,

when the array is sorted you can use InterpolateArray to search for the index of the first element gt/equal than your limit. Subtract from array size.

When the array is not sorted: SortArray...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 3 of 8
(3,921 Views)

Well, you need two counters, so an array with two elements is useful. Here's a simple draft:

CountEm.png

Message 4 of 8
(3,906 Views)