cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Append final value from indicator to text file

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

In my vi, I am trying to append the final values in the indicator for B passes, B fails, L passes, and L fails to the end of my text file. I tired using a local reference and property node (just to try it out) but the values were incorrect. The vi I posted has sample forced values that represent the vi I am working on. I am simply out of ideas at this point. I am fairly new to LabVIEW.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,572 Views)

Hi Jeff,

@Jeffk2336 wrote:

In my vi, I am trying to append the final values in the indicator for B passes, B fails, L passes, and L fails to the end of my text file.

I am fairly new to LabVIEW.

To write to the end of a file (aka "append new data") you need to:

1. Open the file
  2. Set FilePosition to "end of file"
  3. Write data
  4. Close file

(When you write the data in a loop you should open the file, set fileposition and close the file outside the loop!)

When you are "fairly new" to LabVIEW then you should take care of all those "Training resources" offered in the header of the LabVIEW board!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,538 Views)

@GerdW wrote:

Hi Jeff,

@Jeffk2336 wrote:

In my vi, I am trying to append the final values in the indicator for B passes, B fails, L passes, and L fails to the end of my text file.

I am fairly new to LabVIEW.

To write to the end of a file (aka "append new data") you need to:

1. Open the file
  2. Set FilePosition to "end of file"
  3. Write data
  4. Close file

(When you write the data in a loop you should open the file, set fileposition and close the file outside the loop!)

When you are "fairly new" to LabVIEW then you should take care of all those "Training resources" offered in the header of the LabVIEW board!