LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analyzing a Sound File

I am very new to any sound and vibration analysis, so this is what I was trying to accomplish.  I recorded one of our products during run and saved to a wav file.  I then loaded the wav file into my VI and processed using the FFT Power Spectrum vi.  The location of my peaks makes sense given the what I know about this unit.  My main question is what are the units of amplitude?  Are they correct, or did I mess something up?

Attached is the program and the sound file.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,425 Views)

I guess to somewhat answer my own question, I read the entire help section and understand that the amplitude is in (units)rms^2

More specifically, what are the units generally associated with a wav file?  Or do they vary?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,404 Views)

The units will depend on the devices used to record the data.  Did you use an accelerometer and signal conditioner or a microphone and preamplifier?  Do you have the sensitivity and the gain settings for all those devices?  With that information you should be able to calculate the appropriate calibration factors.

Lynn 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,390 Views)

I am using a microphone and preamp/MIDI interface.  The products used are brand new, and the links are below.  Unfortunately while I do have a gain adjustment, there are no readouts for a setting value.

I guess ultimately for this expiriment I only need to know relative amplitudes, so what I have is fine, but this is not the end of my testing, so for the next application, I may need to calculate that correction.

http://www.shure.com/americas/products/microphones/ksm/ksm32-embossed-single-diaphragm-microphone

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrack.html

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(3,382 Views)