cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analog Current Generation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

As I'm sure that my question shows, I'm quite new to LabVIEW. I'm trying to write a simple VI that will generate a constant user selected current, and ideally, the user should be able to modify the current mid-execution. My program compiles and runs just fine, but I'm not reading any current or voltage being generated (using NI 9266) on a multimeter. I've verified that the wiring is correct and the module is functioning properly using MAX. Any thoughts? I've attached my code for reference.MyCode.PNG 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(884 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ChemMan314

Hi ChemMan314, 
If I understood your question correctly, you want to have a user to input the current and this current is generated from the NI 9266. 

Have you looked into the example in LabVIEW? 

I am sure you will able to understand the example and make the modification accordingly. 

Sample.png

I have made a simple VI based on my understanding of your question just as a reference. 

As you can see, the slider represents the user input of the current into the DAQmx Write API while the VI is running and I included in an array so that I can see the current being displayed in the waveform graph. 

Have a look into the code and if you need to modify it, please feel free to do so.

Message 2 of 4
(850 Views)

Thank you, this helps a lot. Just to clarify, I have two questions. 

First, why ore you inputting the data in the form of an array? Is there an advantage to inputting data as an array of length 1 vs. as a double?

Also, what's the purpose of checking the status of the task as an exit condition for the while loop? I understand that it will exit the loop after the task is completed, but what does completing the task mean in context of generating a constant current?

Again, pardon my ignorance, I really appreciate the support.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(768 Views)