LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Agilent 34980A Data Acquisition

Hello all,

I am currently trying to create a VI for data acquisition using a Agilent 34980A unit. I am running LabVIEW 2013 with VISA, NI MAX, and DAQmx. The Agilent is connected through an ethernet cable to my computer and I have sucessfully pinged it from the command screen. 

This is my first time creating a DAQ system and I am a bit lost on how to proceeed. I have been using following this page:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4646/en/

as a guide. I cannot seem to recreate the VI it illustrates though, as my wires and switches do not correspond to what is shown in the link. Unfortunately the 34980A doesn't seem to have the best support from NI, with no example VIs or extra documentation actually hosted by the NI website. Attached is a screenshot of my file and the file itself.

Can anyone help me fix my VI, give me advice to move forward with, or provide a good resource to learn more about this stuff?

Thanks

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,252 Views)

@Option13 wrote:
Unfortunately the 34980A doesn't seem to have the best support from NI, with no example VIs or extra documentation actually hosted by the NI website.

Be happy there is ANY documentation for this.  NI and Agilent are very bitter rivals in the Test & Measurement world.

You need to do an Init before any read.  So if you want to constantly gether data, put the init and the fetch inside of the While loop.  There is no need for the Abort either.  And you are also missing the setup for the scan.

DAQmx is so much easier...

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,248 Views)