LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for Generic Controller and Test Machine in LabVIEW

I am fairly new to LabVIEW (6 months) and looking for a solution for test and measurement.  I prefer to use LabVIEW as the control system, but I cannot financially justify using LabVIEW.  There are a few types of tests that we run: state machines (wait for a certain set of digital inputs), ramping tests (increase output until certain input is hit), and position/voltage control (maintain a position/load/acceleration) and also log test data to a databeas.  I would like to create an environment where a user could “program” a test with ease.  We currently have the capability of a state machine with digital inputs, but lack the ramping and position/voltage control.  I was wondering if the community here could recommend some examples/solutions for this type of application.  Also, I was wondering if anyone has examples/resources that allow a user that has no LabVIEW experience to “program” this type of machine.  It seems to me that the development time for creating such a LabVIEW application greatly exceeds teach the user how to program PLC ladder logic and logging the information with a VB app over OPC.  However, I wish to use LabVIEW for the application.  Please respond with your advice!

Thanks,

Brian

CLA, CTA
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,288 Views)
Your post is confusing- you state you prefer to use LabView, but cannot financially justify using LabView. Are you looking for an economic analysis that may 'tip the scales' to justify the purchase of LabView for your application?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"It’s the questions that drive us.”
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,268 Views)