LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adapting custom driver for a robotic device that is interfacing with an FPGA

Hi,
I have a custom driver for a robotic device that I'd like to interface with an FPGA that is reading the digital encoder signals. I am a novice at programing driver files so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,959 Views)
Neel-

Before anyone on this forum can help you we are gong to need a lot more information. What kind of FPGA are you using? Do you already have a driver or do you want to write one in LabVIEW? Do you need to program the FPGA in LabVIEW? How do you want to interact with teh FPGA? etc...

Xaq
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,943 Views)
Xaq -

Sorry I didn't include sufficient details. We're using a PXI-7831R that is programed in LabView to read in position and force values from a PHANTOM device. We'll also send force feedback values back to the FPGA from our program on the Windows machine. Sensable has a driver to work with their parallel port interface, but we're using a breakout box to connect to the 68-pin I/O connector on the FPGA.

So I anticpate having to create a dll in LabView and then editing our program on the Windows machine to use this new driver.

--Neel
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,912 Views)
I should add that the program on the windows machine written in MS VC 7. It creates a virtual interface for the PHANTOM device and is based on the CHAI3D project.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(5,909 Views)
Neelk-

Thanks for the additional details. It sounds like there are going to be two problems you will run into. The first is interfacing the PHANTOM with your 7831R. If the PHANTOM has a traditional parallel interface then it should be simple DIO. The hard part is knowing what data to send/recieve from the PHANTOM device. Do you already know what the communication looks like?