LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ActiveX and Winspec

Hello fellow labView users,
I have recently started at an internship at a company which relies heavily on labView. I am new to the program and my first project is to develop a program that uses activeX to control a CCD spectroscopy camera through WinSpec. I have read the activeX tutorials and based on that I wrote a simple program. Does anyone have experience similar to my project and could lend some advice or know of any useful resources. It would be greatly appreciated.  
Thanks,
William
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,101 Views)

You need to learn a little patience, as you created 3 threads for this subject. MikeS81 has provided links to this thread so all discussion can take place in one spot. I had seen your thread this morning but did not have time to respond, and was planning to do so later. Remember: these forums are not a venue for instant responses - if you need more immediate help then you should contact NI Tech Support directly. 

With respect to your project: It seems you started writing some "driver" functions for the camera using the ActiveX control. This is a good place to start as it provides modularity and easy coding. It's not clear whether you have a top-level VI, unless "CamRun_wb" is supposed to be the top-level. If it is, it's not clear how it's supposed to work, or what it is that you need to be able to do. I would suggest doing some reading on using event structures and architectures such as state machines and the producer-consumer

A few specific comments about your code:

• Read the Style Guide (it's in the LabVIEW Help file). 
  • Lose the splashy VI icons. Smiley Wink
  • Use clusters rather than invidual controls when the parameters are really part of a group. For example, the "top", "left", "bottom", "right" are good candidates for being placed into a "rect" cluster. That way you have one wire instead of 4.