LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6.1 v's 7.1

Hi, 

As I am new to LabView I would like some help and direction. 

We have , in house, LabView 7.1 which was upgraded from 6.1. LabView is not put to big use at this point in time so no plans to upgrade. 

If I understand correctly since we have deployment only for Test Stand on our test systems we must use either executables or DLL which are generated from LabView to be called from Test Stand. 

From what I see we have the VI’s and DLL files into which the VI’s are complied into. 

If I open a DLL and extract the VI, so far I have seen no problems, I am just having a look to see what is if I understand what is going on. 

Would that imply I have open all 7.1 or does in matter, will 6.1 VI’s open with 7.1 with no problem? 

If this is so, will all the VI’s I have run with 7.1 or will some translation be required? 

Thanks for the help 

Simon

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,765 Views)

QW123z wrote:

If I open a DLL and extract the VI, so far I have seen no problems, I am just having a look to see what is if I understand what is going on. 

I don't understand how you can extract a VI from a dll. This makes no sense. (Do you mean llb perhaps?)

LabVIEW 7.1 should be able to open and run all 6.1 VIs. Do you have any extra drivers or toolkits?

If you also want to run executables or dlls that were made in LabVIEW 6.1, you would need to install the 6.1 runtime.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,756 Views)

@

I remember that a 6.1 built exe files could be renamed to a llb, and then it could be open like a any other llb. The diagram was stripped of course. I remember I found it funny, but with no practical use. I have not tested if for a long time, but I guess it is not true for newer Labview versions. Anyway since the diagram is stripped it can not be recompiled, and this fact may perhaps have impact on QW123z project