From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

JDP Science Tools

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TCP messenger interoperability with python

Hello James,

I've been using your actor/messenger libraries for a couple of years now. I have an ecosystem of actors that register themselves with a registrar actor. Any actor can look up any other through the registrar. This function is limited to a single machine.

I want expand this service to lookup across machines using tcp/ip messengers. Additionally I want to communicate to asynchronous python processes that would look very much like your actors. They would have publish/subscribe (observer registry) services, and they would send and receive messages like your LV actors.

Do you have any examples of python communicating to your actors/messengers via tcp/ip? I don't want to reinvent anything.

Many thanks for your library!

Damon

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,657 Views)

I'm afraid I've had no projects requiring interoperability, yet, but my plan is to make use of JSON as a common format.  It would require a modified TCP Connection/Client Actors (those that actually handle the TCP link).

So a message going out over TCP might look like:

{

"type":"MSG",

"Label":"Request Channel Data",

"Data":"ChannelName",

"Reply To Address":"kjsdbkjcskdjcbjdsckjdsdcj"

}

Then the reply coming back over TCP would be like:

"type":"Reply",

"Address":"kjsdbkjcskdjcbjdsckjdsdcj",

"Message":{

"Label":"Channel Data",

"Data":{...}

}

}