Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

mass flow controller communication (RS232)

Hi guys,  LV 8.5 user here.

I'm trying to set up a data acquisition program for reading data from my Apex mass flow controller (MFC) via RS232.

I'm trying to verify that the contoller is able to talk to my serial port on my PC before I even attempt the VI using some of the driver VI's available on Apex's website (i'm new to instrument control, so that is another problem I have yet to tackle).

I can get the MFC to talk via hyperterminal, but have not been able to get anything out of the VISA test panel via MAX, or through the "basic serial write and read.vi" program available in the example finder. 

In searching the forums and ni.com, I found this article Why Does My Serial Instrument Work in Hyperterminal But Not in LabVIEW or VISA Test Panels in MAX?, which would seem to be my exact problem.

When trying the serial loopback check, I run into issues, either from just me lacking a basic understanding, or due to a poorly written article Smiley Happy

Here is the loopback test article:  http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3450

The first article discusses the termination characters, and warns that the termination characters used in Hyperterminal need to match those in LabVIEW.  Hyperterminal returns no other characters with the message I type into the terminal.  In fact, having never really used hyperterminal previously, I'm not certain it's returning anything, or i'm simply seeing the original message I typed.  The MFC does spit data out to hyperterminal though, so I know that hyperterminal works to some extent.......

The loopback test works in labview's "basic serial write and read.vi" and VISA's test panel, so I think the jumper harness I made is correct.

Lastly, if I was able to confirm what the termination characters hyperterminal uses are, how would I go able changing anything LabVIEW is using?