From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

develop visa driver

I'm new to Labview. I have a Hardware, connected vie etthernet to a desktop computer. I want provide labview code, to easy connect to Labveiw with this hardware.

A code in VC C++ already exists connecting to the hardware, with

1) Init function, initialising the hardware, prompting first time the user for ip address and finding all modules connected to the hardware

2) start function, starting thread for each module, writing and reading data to an form each module with a given period as parameter

3)IO functions reading and writing to each module, parameters: module, bytepos and value for writing.

Is the Visa Driver developemnt the proper way of doing it?

open -> 1)

configure -> 2)

peak, poke -> 3)

It is a good idea to use the c-code library functions in an dll library connecting to labview?

Or should I use an other approach?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(5,086 Views)

First check to see if there is a LabVIEW driver already available.  Inside of LabVIEW, you can go to Tools->Instrumentation->Find Instrument Driver.  That will open up a window to let you search for your instrument and then install the driver for you.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(5,079 Views)

Thanks for your hint,