Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xantrex XKW driver... does it work?

Hello,

I'm new to LabView, GPIB etc. I'm struggling to control the above power supply using the drivers available. I've wired it up for the 'getting started' VI and this now runs without any errors. However, it doesn't really work in that it doesn't seem to attempt to reach the voltage / current I ask it to. If I enter 150 V it shows that the actual output is about 0.3 V! Has anyone else used these drivers successfully? Does anyone have an idea where I've gone wrong? Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you.

Stu.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,421 Views)

Hi Stu:

I work for Xantrex and noticed your message.  Could you supply a little more information?  What version of LabVIEW are you using?  What version of the instrument drivers are you using?  What model XKW are you using?  What are all the settings that you are sending to the power supply?  To set a voltage, you need to supply a current greater than 0 and an OVP (over-voltage protection) setting greater than the voltage setting.  Can you tell me what lights are on on the front panel after running the getting started vi?

I have forwarded this message to the engineers responsible for maintaining the instrument drivers.  If you provide answers to these questions, I'm sure we can help you.

Rob

Message 2 of 16
(4,398 Views)

Hi Rob,

Thank you very much for the offer of help. To answer your questions, I'm running LabView 7.1 and the Xantrex XKW driver version 2.0 (downloaded from http://sine.ni.com/apps/we/niid_web_display.drv_results?p_app_area=&p_man=xantrex&p_keywords=&p_inst...=).

The power supply is an XKW 300-10.

The settings I've put into the getting started vi are: OVP 250 V, Voltage setpoint 150 V, Current setpoint 5 A. (This gives an output voltage and current in the vi of about 0.2 V and 0.003 A respectively.)