Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Viewing Serial Port Status Whilst LabView Is Running

Hi all New to the site so please forgive me if the question I am asking is child’s play but I have had little experience with LabView Basically what I have is LabView 5.1 talking to a FieldPoint Explorer via Serial comms to obtain friction and temperature measurements. Now when you first switch the PC on and get the server/client running, all is well and it communicates fine with FieldPoint, but then after a un-determined amount of time the measurements all drop to zero like the data from the serial port is no longer being read (or displayed possibly) by LabView. The Network and Access light on the FieldPoint are still flashing and there is no error code coming from the FieldPoint Status LED. The DAQ says it is still receiving messages as the counter continues to go up even though the values are all at zero  I have tried using 'Hyperterminal' as stated in the NI help section of the site and when I short Tx and Rx I get the double letters back so according to NI my comms port is ok. I have also checked all Baud rates and loose connections, joints, cards etc but to no avail What I really want to know is, is there a way to look at the serial port via LabView to see if it is still seeing data received into the port or a way to determine whether LabView is for some reason just not bothering to process that data anymore? I personally believe LabView is the problem as the port seems to test out OK and the hardware seems to be still communicating once the values all drop. I have only had it once where I have left the system in the error state and the values came back again briefly then went again Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any help or tips, anything is welcome and appreciated Mitch

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,260 Views)