Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Novice Programmer With Functional Code. Looking For Feedback on Organization/Improvements

Hi everyone. I'm a Test Engineer for a small company and have no coding experience prior to a few months of what I taught myself in a physics lab. I have no background with any coding software besides LabVIEW and am seeking feedback on my code and what looks good as well as what could also use some improvements. I hope to use 'PM100D Measure Power.vi' in the near future and it is working, but I would like to take the time to review my first project so I can limit my mistakes next time I build a project like this.

Currently, the file is in PM100D.llb because the driver would not function for me outside of the library of drivers. I modified the 'Measure Power' VI which is what I will be using to do measurements. Essentially, I can control a DC power supply while simultaneously using an optical power meter. I can save data and also have over voltage protection incorporated. 

I would like to be able to control more than 1 channel of the power supply at a time, but feedback is the main goal of this post. If you see a way in which I can improve my VI please let me know. Thank you in advance for those who respond!

P.S. I added a simpler version of the optical power meter that is able to function outside of the llb file and it is the same exact thing as the 'PM100D Measure Power.vi', however, no power supply is integrated in the while loop so it executes MUCH faster.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,600 Views)

Hey Malichi: 

I was taking a look at your code and my first impression is kudos! For someone who is getting started, it looks very good. I have three recommendations though, that could improve it, they are based on what I see for the Power Meter (Passive):