Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having problem with simple serial communication

Hi,

I am a newbie in Labview. I was tryong to just communicate with a Omega thermocouple which has a RS232 interface and hooked up to my pc. I was using the basic serial communication vi provided in  the example. I validated the instrument using MAX and it was showing : Prot: COM1, Baud: 9600, Parity: none, Flow control: none, syop bits: 1.0.

In the vi: I was sending a input string, if everything was working fine, it should have returned the same thing in the read string, as far as I understood. What may be the problem with the communication as I am not getting anything in the read string?

Hope to hear from you soon.

Regards

Anupam

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(4,012 Views)

You could be sending an incorrect string, sending without the correct termination character, have a wrong serial cable, have the wrong com settings, or any number of other problems. There is nothing in MAX that validates a serial instrument so I have no idea about what you mean. All that MAX will show is the settings of the pc's serial port.

If you have the instrument's manual, attach that and provide the exact string that you are sending with the example. Using another terminal emulation program such as Hyperterminal is also recomended. If you have problems with that, you should be able to get help from the vendor. Success with the other program would also confirm that you have the correct type of cable and com settings.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(4,009 Views)

Hi,