From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating With Keithley 2614B Using LabVIEW Driver

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to LabVIEW and I have been trying to communicate with our Keithley 2614B to acquire I-V curve data and monitor change in conductivity over time; however, I'm struggling to even interact with the device using the examples provided by the Keithley LabVIEW driver files for the 2600 models. 

I have contacted Keithely and National Instruments and I've done the basic checks: ran diagnostic to ensure keithley and computer are communicating, all drivers are installed and updated, etc. Additionally, with the help of a NI representative I created a simple diagnostic test using LabVIEW for simple communication with the Keithley and that also resulted in a VISA communication error.

As shown in the picture provided, when I try to run the example code, I receive a read error. The problem is most likely due to the fact that the VISA resource tab only provides me with options of "COM 1" and "COM 3" but no option regarding the Keithley.

I thank you in advance for your help.

Best regards,

FM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,463 Views)

Do you have the correct communication cable?

greetings from the Netherlands
Message 2 of 5
(3,459 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Freddie6532!

Hi FM,

The error you see in the VI execution is a timeout error.  (VISA error list - https://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361J-01/lverror/visa_error_codes/)

More detail is needed... 

- What operating system on the PC?

- What version of LabVIEW? (Eg. LabVIEW 2018 32bit)

- Did you install VISA and other drivers (which versions)?