From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CNC control using third party controller

Hi guys,

I am a beginner to labview.

I am trying to know, how to communicate with a third party controller of a three axis cnc machine using labview.

For eg if i start from a normal communication like asking for IDN etc there is no response always a time out error occurs, so basically I think the machine is not communicating.

I have also read the manual of the controller, but there is no information regarding basic communication. The protocols involve all about what command is required to move a axis etc.

Or is this how the protocols of a third party controller are normally and we have to start coding.

I want to generally know whether can i communicate using labview with this 3 axis cnc machine or not._(stepper motor is used for movement)

Please assist!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,627 Views)

Hi shek123,

I did something similar, namely controlling a 3D printer from LabWIEV using a cRIO.

LabVIEW runs a VI on the cRIO (which is sort of an embedded system). The cRIO has NI 9512 C Series Motor Drive Interface Modules in it. The modules connect to Kollmorgen p7000 series motor drivers, which connects to serco motors. This is multiplicated 4 times for 4 axes.

Software wise I use LabVIEW to read gCode, NI-Motion to pass the instructions to the motor drivers.

I hope this makes sence. What about your setup?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,566 Views)

okay.

The good news is that now i can communicate with the instrument, but I can't change the mode of the instrument.

Basically the mode has to be changed for different parameters.