Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I get several tags in only one communication?

Hello friends,

First of all, I apologize for my bad English. I'm not a native of English so doing my best with Google translator.

I joined this company a month ago and they ordered to make PLC-PC communication program with LabVIEW.

I handled LabVIEW a little at University and I wrote it on the resume. (I think that's the reason why they employed me.)

but in my department, I'm the only one who have experience about LabVIEW and CLAD so I have to do all of thing on my own.

They bought E/IP Toolkit for me but I've never used it before. of course PLC too.

what I did at University is just make stuffs like drones or robots with sensors. I never experienced an industrial protocol things.

I apologize again that the introduce is going too long. I'm the only one how employed this season so wanted someone to pouring out.

so my question is 

1. Can I get several tag data (for example, get Velocity, Torque, Running status) in one communication with E/IP toolkit?

- I made a program for communication but I had to use "for loop" to get 5 kind of data at ones

- but my supervisor want to get the data without "for loop" (because of processing time)

- I saw someone who double checked that E/IP toolkit don't support read multiple tags. can I get the link of the page?

2. If E/IP Toolkit can't, TCP functions can do it ?

- I read almost of this forums but couldn't find the answer.

- but I found some opinions that "Use TCP function to get several data in one array"

- If I have to get many data in one process, I have to use TCP not E/IP?

I look forward to hearing from you.

best regards,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,502 Views)

I thought about the problem, 

For example, If PLC and LabVIEW can communicate 5 data in same time, I can solve it with just put five Read tag blocks on the program.