High-Speed Digitizers

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI Scope vs Keithley 3458A - Accuracy

Solved!
Go to solution

We have a calibration fixture that historically used the Keithley 3458A to measure Vrms and Irms at 50KHz and 500KHz. (spec sheet)

I have a problem using this because we have to measure the Voltage and Current at two different activations because the DMM is incapable of measuring both voltage and current at the same time. It slows down the process and introduces extra relays into the system which I don't like due to contact resistance and reliability over time.

An engineer refuses to budge on using this DMM with this argument. He says we need high AC accuracy across the entire bandwidth. The AC accuracy of the PXI-5922 is 0.06% and is only measured at 1KHz. He claims the DMM (in synchronous subsampling mode) has high accuracy across all of the bandwidth.

I'm not an expert on this, but I get the feeling he is comparing apples and oranges (even if they're named the same). The DMM is reporting AC accuracy after a Vrms calculation is done. The oscillscope is reporting sample AC accuracy. I would need to then calculate Vrms over multiple cycles which would then increase the accuracy. Am I right about this? I don't know how to answer why it's only reported at 1KHz and how much worse it gets at higher frequencies.

Are there any other advantages or disadvantages to using this DMM vs a high accuracy scope? I don't want to counter this guys argument unless I can build a pretty good case.

(side question is, is there a more accurate scope in the lineup?)

Josh
Software is never really finished, it's just an acceptable level of broken
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,051 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author JW-JnJ