From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Performance/Threading Question

I'm an experienced RT SW engineer, yet, this is my first year with FRC and Labview (as a mentor)

Our SW includes one complicated state machine with two relevant (to this question) charachteristics:

1. Some of the transitions may take long time (including time delays)

2. Sometime, during a transition, it is possible to realize another state transition is required.

The state machine transitions are triggered by the driver (joystick button) but due to possible lengthly response I don't want it to run under the teleop thread (to avoid delaying other responses to driver operation).

I thought of analyzing the joystick buttons from teleop but then "signal" the need for state machine activity in another context.

One possible solution is using one of the periodic tasks loops, one we have no other use for, to check a global variable denoting whether to run the state machine.

Another possibility I thought of is using Occurrence or Notifier from teleop to a waiting VI.

Are these acceptable solutions? will they behave as I expect? what would be your suggestion to handle such a case?

Thanks for any thoughts shared.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,768 Views)

Hi Sigal,

One  of the things I try and encourage when programming the FRC robot is to separate output process from each other.

We did this by using separate parallel loops in the timed task area.

Keeping these loops or systems separate prevents slower systems from affecting ones that need a quicker response.

Our Robot last year had a separate while loop for each of the robot's systems.