FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Button in Labview?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, i am new to labview, but im getting the hang of it, i successfully configured a tank drive last night, and now im having trouble with buttons, is there any sample code that show how to configure a button to drive a motor? All i want to do is when button is pressed motor runs at 100% its a spike motor and then when button is released motor stops.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,555 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Programmer1696

Hi,

It uses the "Unbundle by Name" in the "Cluster, ..." pallet after right clicking on the block diagram.

I have provided pictures and attached the VI coding that shows ways to do it. Although I have never messed with Spike coding (I think I get it) but what I have been doing is still programming it to a PWM and a Victor/Jaguar which works great (using that on my team's robot this year).

Tutorial 1.1.pngTutorial 1.2.png

Post if you have any questions on the code.

Glad to Help,

Davis Catherman

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,203 Views)

Thanks so much, it should be east to convert it to a relay, would you happen to know anything about "watchdog not fed" wont let me run my program

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(3,203 Views)

Hi,

I actually do. Although it is a system that must be perfect or issues are caused.

There are two different ways to code:

1. The Unproper Way

-all of the code is in a seperate file that uses a while loop

-file must be called in Robot Main.vi

-I've never succeeded with the camera in this format

2. The Proper Way

-all the code is called in the Begin.vi then executed in Autonomous.vi and Teleop.vi, then all is closed in the End.vi

-It is a REALLY good idea to learn this way (i started it this year and many things work better)

-great place to learn it is FRCmastery.com