Example Code

TestStand Event Log

Code and Documents

Attachment

Overview

For a long time working as a TestStand architect I was asked “how can an event log be created to allow additional information about the execution of a solution to be stored?”  I could see a real need to log data independent of the test results as this information would clutter the result data for factory systems with information only really required to sort out test problems.

On thinking about this for a while I found the current mechanism for OutputMessages in TestStand to be very powerful.  This allows messages to be sent from TestStand sequences using the built in function to send a message as well as from code modules where a simple TestStand Engine API call can be made.  Messages are automatically recorded with date/time information, and they can also be categorised.  The messages are also linked to the current execution and therefore can be tied to a particular UUT.  Finally for the sequence editor at least there is a nice way to present them to the user.

The bit that is missing is the ability to log the data to one or more files.  So I embarked on a project to create such a feature.

Code Module Description

The first part of the challenge was to allow the capture of output messages.

I tend to use C# for executive code module implementation so snippets will be from the full example Visual Studio C# project. 

As TestStand supports multiple executions I implemented the module as a singleton to only allow one instance to be running even if multiple executions start.  This is more a C# technical challenge and my implementation my not be the best, but it works!