From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Distributed Control & Automation Framework (DCAF)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modbus Array Access

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the LabView world, and I am working on a project automating an industrial process using a cRio as a PLC.  Because we plan to only use LabView & the cRio for prototyping, I have chosen to go with sensors and actuators that are controllable via Modbus TCP.  I began playing with the shared variable engine as a way to access my Modbus slaves, which seems to work fine, but I remembered from a discussion with a colleague that DCAF exists and started to look into it.  I watched the into webinar today, and it seems like while it could be overkill for our system (3 actuators with simple PID control, and about 10 sensors), it would make the more tedious parts of developing such a system much easier for me.

Today I began a new project with the DCAF configurator, and I started configuring the Modbus module offered with the system.  I realized that I can only use single variable types (no arrays) for my access values.  This is an issue for me since one of my slaves requires data access to certain sets of registers in order, starting with a certain valid start address.  In the shared variable engine, I just used the array access to get the data I need since it starts at the correct address.

Is there a way to configure DCAF to use similar access?  I thought I might be able to combine each individual register tag into a new tag that has an array type of the same variable type (U16), but I am not seeing a way to do that.  Am I stuck with the shared variable engine with the scan engine behind it?  It feels like if I go that way, DCAF doesn't really provide me a whole lot of benefit.