Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usb-6501 cannot capture digital signal

Hi,

I am setting up a liquid monitoring system which is comprised of a fiber optic sensor and an amplifier. When the light intensity on the laser changes, the amplifier trigger an on/off signal (0v ~ 5v). I wired the amplifier to a DC power source and the data line to the USB-6501 port0/line0.

I launched LabView and setup a task so that I can try to intercept the signal that comes out of the amplifier.

I am not an electrical engineer so this concept is fairly new to me. I basically need to be able to capture the digital signal from the amplifier using the DAQ device.

When the liquid level drops on the bottle the light intensity value on the amplifier changes as well and the signal is generated. However, I am unable to capture that signal using the USB-6501.

All I know about the amplifier (from the vendor) is that it is a sinking 0v ~ 5v (on/off) 100mA.

This will eventually have to be integrated into an application which send email alerts when a signal is captured.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,005 Views)

I'm assuming you've got a ground connection to the 6501 as well as the signal line.

There's a pull-up resistor in the DIO that pulls the line high with nothing on it, so when your output is driven low, the DIO should see that. 

Have you tried looking for a change in Test Panels?

Also try measuring the output lines with a multimeter, see that it makes that transition from +V to ground and back, then hook it up to the DIO.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(4,001 Views)

Hey fazr,