Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using an Absolute Encoder in Labview

I am looking to enter speed and angular position data into Labview from an absolute position encoder - I have not selected an encoder yet but require upto 8,000rpm.

Is this easily done with labview - I've come across Grey code and SSI (Synchronous Serial Interface) outputs.

We currently have a cDAQ 9174 with 9215 and 9211 modules - can I run a encoder through either of these interfaces or are there modules tailored to this type of job?

Sorry for the basic questions - I'm new to labview and have been thrown in at the deep end.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(8,946 Views)

Hi Logictom,

You can use an absolute encoder with LabVIEW but not with the modules that you currently have. You will need to get a Digital Input module.

This KnowledgeBase Article explains more about using Absolute Encoders with LabVIEW.

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/A9CA92E2B56C3519862576E900806D0B?OpenDocument

Let me know if you have anymore questions.

Kind regards,

James W
Controls Systems Engineer
STFC
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(8,938 Views)

The knowledgebase that James linked is for an encoder with a parallel interface. Acquiring from these is pretty straightforward as mentioned in the knowledgebase article, you would just need a module with the appropriate number of digital input lines to cover the number of bits you want to measure from the encoder (I'd probably suggest looking at the 9403).